Kulturindustrie vs. Kunst (zwei Anmerkungen):

Weshalb schreibt man Kritiken über Bücher? Und nicht über Grammophonplatten? Mir ist mein Grammophonplatten-Schrank viel interessanter als mein Bücherschrank. Oft bringe ich mir eine neue Platte mit aus der Stadt. Selten ein neues Buch. Ein neues Buch von Edschmid, Bronnen, Radiguet? Es mag ja ganz nett sein, aber ich kaufe mir lieber „What’ll I do?“ oder „When Dixi Stars are playing peek-a-boo“. Da ist ja allein schon der Titel ein Gedicht.

– Hans Siemsen, 1925, in: Die Weltbühne, 21. Jhg., Nr. 23, via Oliver Pfohlmann

Some time ago, I began playing a game with myself: whenever a gallery opening threatened to be boring, I compared every art object at hand with The Simpsons episode that aired the same afternoon. I probably don’t need to tell you that, in most cases, the cultural industrial product of three scriptwriters, three hundred Korean draughtsmen and women, several actors, and many other people was not only more intelligent, funny, and entertaining than its counterpart, it also succeeded on the home turf of fine art: a self-reflecive discussion of its own means in order to achieve a specific aesthetic goal: justification of that goal.

– Diedrich Diederichsen, 2010, in: Judgement and Contemporary Art Criticism

Schreibe einen Kommentar

